Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Dr D & Bernice Bennett to talk Genetic Genealogy


Please join Dr D and Bernice Bennett on Thursday night, January 29th, at 9:00 PM Eastern time as we talk about genetic genealogy on blog talk radio over the internet. Bernice is the host of the show "Research at the National Archives and Beyond". Here is what she has to say about her show:

Welcome to Research at the National Archives and Beyond! This show will provide individuals interested in genealogy and history an opportunity to listen, learn and take action. You can join me every Thursday at 9 pm Eastern, 8 pm Central, 7pm Mountain and 6 pm Pacific where I will have a wonderful line up of experts who will share resources, stories and answer your burning genealogy questions. All of my guests share a deep passion and knowledge of genealogy and history. My goal is to reach individuals who are thinking about tracing their family roots; beginners who have already started and others who believe that continuous learning is the key to finding answers. "Remember, your ancestors left footprints".
This week's show focuses on genetic genealogy:
What do you know about DNA?  Have you had your DNA tested and still have questions about your results?

Join David Dowell for a discussion about DNA and his new book NextGen Genealogy: The DNA Connection.


David Dowell was an academic librarian for 35 years. He has 2 degrees in history and 2 in library science. He has researched family histories since the 1960s. He is an ethicist, lecturer and author whose two most recent books are Crash Course in Genealogy (2011) and NextGen Genealogy: The DNA Connection (2014). He formerly taught “Genealogy Research” and “Ethics in the Information Age” at Cuesta College and chaired the Genealogy Committee and the Committee on Professional Ethics of the American Library Association. He blogs on genealogical topics as “Dr. D Digs Up Ancestors” at http://blog.ddowell.com. He coordinates two surname and one haplogroup DNA research projects. Dr. Dowell has taught library science courses face-to-face and online for 15 years and made presentations to local, regional and national library groups. He has taught genealogy research classes in both California and Tennessee and made presentations on genetic genealogy to community groups and local genealogy societies in California, Illinois and Tennessee. He is currently lecturing on genealogy research for the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at Vanderbilt University.
Chat and call-in questions and comments will be accepted from the audience. The show will be available for streaming for those unable to listen to it live.


No comments:

Post a Comment